The late, great Evan Hunter

I posted tonight on the Facebook page of GOODBYE, SATURDAY NIGHT about Evan Hunter. I mentioned he wrote 117 novels, in addition to plays, screenplays, and television work, between 1952 and his death in 2005 at the age of 78. The more I think about it the more I really appreciate the genius of Evan Hunter. He was a very good writer and received many awards and published several best-sellers, including BLACKBOARD JUNGLE (1954) and LAST SUMMER (1968). He was highly acclaimed for his brilliant screenplay for Alfred Hitchcock’s THE BIRDS (1963). It is absolutely amazing he could write so many books, and most of them good works. It has taken me 36 years to get GOODBYE, SATURDAY NIGHT to a point where I am almost ready to send it to the editor. I’m not sure I have time to write a second novel. #evanhunter #lastsummernovel #prolificwriters

Leave a Reply

