Thoughts after the book signing

I imagine you folks are getting tired of hearing about my book signing but I have some thoughts I want to share. There is a feeling of validation when folks actually come to buy your book and ask you to sign it. It helps make the whole trip more real. I’m sure Maugham, Hemingway, Steinbeck, Capote, and certainly Harper Lee, got used to folks wanting their signature inside the cover of a book. It’s brand new to me and I am still on cloud nine after the experience.

A few of the folks who said they were coming didn’t make it but several who did not respond, and one whom I never realized knew about the book, came by to help me celebrate. I was amazed and humbled by the outpouring of interest in my book.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts after the book signing”

  1. Tom — Hope it never gets old! I think the best event I ever held as the author of LGBTQ YA stories was an after-school reading in a library right next to a high school, when the only people who showed up were my adult friends. It was the best, because it told me that the need for these kids to hear validating stories was so low they’d rather be on the library’s computers in the next room. We’re having a really good effect. Keep at it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

